Author Topic: My Summer Kitchen  (Read 1822 times)

Offline allofthemonkeys

• Survivalist Mentor
    • Dutch Oven A Day
My Summer Kitchen
« on: July 25, 2013, 04:56:16 PM »
Hi guys, I made a video of my 'summer kitchen' that can also be a survival situation kitchen.  I would appreciate any feedback.

http://youtu.be/1aFiiQbGj4c

Offline Crazy Fox

• Survivalist Mentor
  • Every day, every way, getting better.
Re: My Summer Kitchen
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2013, 01:17:06 PM »
Nice beginning ;D

All that I have to add is that a short intro to your requirements (kind of a "philosophy of use") for a summer kitchen might be nice.

I liked how you took a minute to point out the drawbacks of the current setup (burners are a little far apart) and mentioned your future needs (water and counter space). This helps people plan their own projects.

I'm a newb to the concept of a summer kitchen, so this stuff is right up my alley.

Offline ncjeeper

• Most Noble Order of the Garter Snake
  • Survival Demonstrator
  • Oooops!
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2013, 06:16:59 PM »
Is there any cost savings associated with using the summer kitchen?

Offline allofthemonkeys

• Survivalist Mentor
    • Dutch Oven A Day
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2013, 12:54:01 AM »
CTyler, thanks for the pointer, I will try to add that to my future videos.

Jeeper, I haven't done any math as to the costs.  It just gets really hot in my house if I have something going for a while, like boiling a pot of potatoes or pasta. 

I lived in Florida for a while and I noticed that in some neighborhoods, everyone had one.  I lived with central AC so it wasn't much or a problem.  Now, I have a window AC in my child's room and a window swamp cooler in my bedroom but the kitchen really gets hot, being on the south west corner.  I remembered the summer kitchens in Florida and 'light bulb' That's why they did it!  I set my stove up on the deck, left my grill where it was and got a start on my 'summer kitchen'.

Offline Oil Lady