Author Topic: In search of a few items  (Read 7751 times)

Offline 1960paco

• Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
In search of a few items
« on: October 07, 2015, 01:34:00 PM »
Ok so I'm not sure if this goes here move it off need be. im looking to find a few items is like quality long lasting stuff and not sure where to begin. i want to get a few oil lanterns, wool blankets, some way to safely keep my family warm this winter should the power go out and a good quality LED lantern for indoors, any recommendations would be awesome as I'm new to this and you guys are a source i trust! thanks in advanced :)

endurance

Re: In search of a few items
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2015, 01:50:44 PM »
If you're a member of Costco, the last time I was there they had a great LED camping lantern that was 500+ lumens.  Looked like a very nice model and if I recall correctly was about $40, about half the price of a very similar unit I've been eyeing from Coleman recently.  They also had a number of smaller LED lighting options that worked with either remote control or motion detectors. 

For wool blankets, try to find stuff that is woven rather than felt.  Some of the cheaper felt blankets fall apart if they get wet (I learned this at an outdoors concert a few years ago).  While I purchased mine locally, I have this same blanket and it has lasted well over a decade between picnics, cold winter evenings, and the trunk of my car.  I wouldn't hesitate buying another one.

The one kerosene lantern I owned is long retired.  The chimney for it broke, I never got around to replacing it, and storing serious quantities of kerosene has never seemed like that good of an idea since it has a short shelf life and is getting harder and harder to find.

nkawtg

« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2015, 02:04:38 PM »
Surplus stores are a good source of wool blankets.

Offline mountainmoma

• Survival Demonstrator
  • suburban homesteader
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2015, 02:06:04 PM »