Author Topic: Small garden power implements...  (Read 3726 times)

Offline TimSuggs

• Dedicated Contributor
Small garden power implements...
« on: November 15, 2008, 10:39:08 PM »
Hi all!  I have been slowly acquiring a few "power tools" that I intend to take to the retreat with me to help with the pulling food out of the ground thing.  I have a lot of experience with Bobcat's and that would be one of my first choices, but just a little on the large side for the small garden I have in mind.  And something like an old Ford 8N tractor would be way too big for my garden.  So, I have acquired several older riding lawn mowers and have been working the bugs out of them for a while now. 

Some of the problems using a converted riding lawn mower to plow and till are:

No PTO, so any power attachments have to be self powered
No 3 point hitch/lift
Limited weight for traction and steering
Not designed for added weight of implement

I picked up a Swisher 44" Tow-Behind Trailcutter/bush-hog" (1.5" diameter chop chop capacity) from Northern Tools that is self powered with a 16hp B&S that is just awesome.  This monster will reduce a concrete block to dust (don't ask me how I know) and will chop up just about anything you can drag it over.  That's the problem, it weighs almost 600 pounds so it's kinda hard to drag it period, much less drag it over a mimosa tree with a 200 pound lawn tractor.  The result is a very abrupt and sudden cessation of forward motion.  Usually winds up standing the tractor straight up in the air before I can react making for some interesting stories.