Author Topic: car battery jumper packs  (Read 8769 times)

Offline womule

• Survivalist Mentor
car battery jumper packs
« on: November 21, 2009, 07:07:32 PM »
Just listened to the episode about vehicle preps. I have been repairing vehicles in GM garages for 10 years now and I wouldn't endorse the jumper packs as a prepper item. They are handy to have as a mechanic, but they don't hold their charge very long. So it might not be there for you if you need it.

Offline Pathfinder

• Survival Demonstrator
Re: car battery jumper packs
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2009, 07:27:25 PM »
Too true, womule, especially if left in a car when it's zero out. However, I got into the habit of taking it into the office with me during the day, keeping it from freezing, and charging it too if the status lights were down even one level.

More important is to get one that is sized for your vehicle. The one I have is good for a car, but I have dual 880A-hr batteries in the pickup, and a 200A box just ain't gonna cut it getting it started. So now I am looking at a Schumacher 950A box that actually costs less than I paid for the plug-in charger.

Offline womule

• Survivalist Mentor
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2009, 07:36:31 PM »
Pathfinder, you are correct sir!  Let me add that if someone is concidering jumper cables, then they should buy a pair that have the narrow extentions on the clamps. GM vehicles have side terminals on their batteries and are always difficult to put jumper cables on. You may not drive a GM but the person jumping your car might

Offline Serellan

• REMF
  • Moderator On Leave
  • Dedicated Contributor
  • Diligenter et Fideliter
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2009, 01:02:13 PM »