Author Topic: A cheap, basic prep that may save your life  (Read 5446 times)

Offline Chief_919

• Survivor
A cheap, basic prep that may save your life
« on: November 29, 2010, 07:58:19 PM »
It sounds simple, but so many people never consider it.

Make sure that your address is very clearly and plainly marked on your home in a manner that can be easily and quickly seen from the road.

It should be letters that stand out from the background during the day, and ideally should be lit at night. Best to have one by the driveway entrance and one by the front door.

Something like this:
http://www.harborfreight.com/solar-numbers-house-address-92650.html

Why?

In all my time when I was a volunteer firefighter/first responder, the one thing that made responding to a call the hardest was trying to find the right house when there were a bunch of homes in a row with no visible numbers on them. Or out in the country where 10 different driveways ran off the road, and the mailboxes had black 1/2 inch letters on a dark blue mailbox that you couldn't make out, or all the mailboxes for 10 homes were clustered in one spot.

I know we are all about self reliance, but we all know there are times when we will need to call people for help. When it is that bad, you don't want the people coming to help to waste precious time figuring out what house is yours.

Offline Citizen Zero

• Senior Survivalist
  • Rural Dweller
Re: A cheap, basic prep that may save your life
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2010, 08:38:00 PM »
In our rural area, the local FD will make the address number sign for you free of charge. They are of the same general opinion in that it is really hard to help you when they can't find your house.

Offline Nicodemus

• HooHa Man! AKA Docs Whipping Boy
  • Moderator On Leave
  • Survival Veteran
  • Wake up and smell the cat food n your bank account
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2010, 10:38:16 PM »