Author Topic: Antenna quesiton/idea...  (Read 5151 times)

Offline gringogigante

• Survivor
  • Firearms & CHL instructor
    • MetroplexCHL
Antenna quesiton/idea...
« on: June 28, 2012, 09:37:59 PM »
I've recently gotten back into Ham stuff and was curious about putting an antenna up on my roof. I've got an old school TV antenna mounted up there by the previous owner. I'm wondering if I could take the old school tv antenna off it's 10' mast and add a good Ham antenna?

Again, I'm really new to this....got my Tech license in 1990'ish and haven't used since about a year after getting my license. So, I've got a LOT to re-learn.

Any help would be appreciated.

Chris

Offline SCWolverine

• Survivalist Mentor
Re: Antenna quesiton/idea...
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2012, 05:02:07 AM »
Hey Chris,

I did just that!  I removed the old-tenna and added an Arrow J-Pole for Dual Band Operations from the house (VHF/UHF) I replaced the mast as it was a little rusty around the bottom with a few new sections from Lowes for about $8 each.  The Chimney Strap Mount was in great shape.  The Arrow works remarkably well as does the Ed Fong J-Pole (found on e-bay) I use at the Barn/Shack.

I thought I has a shot of the Arrow, but I can't find it.  Here is a pic of the weatherhead I added to bring the wires into the house with. I should have used a 2" vs. the 1.5"...oh well

the link to Arrow:
http://arrowantennas.com/osj/j-pole.html

it is a very simple design, that some make from scrap at home-I bought mine complete from a dealer.

SCW

Offline idelphic

• I Zgjuari I DynjasĂ«
  • Dedicated Contributor
  • Theoretical Conceptualist - Avatar by Ada
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2012, 10:04:59 AM »
There are a number of homebrew antennas you can make and do the same thing with.  So you can go either direction.  Edison Fong has a nice plan for the Twinlead J-pole for UHF/VHF as SCW mentioned.

Here is a good 1/4wave for UHF/VHF, using solid copper wire and a SO-259 connector

Good luck,..