Author Topic: Banking on an Emergency Seed Bank?  (Read 21309 times)

Offline Nicodemus

• HooHa Man! AKA Docs Whipping Boy
  • Moderator On Leave
  • Survival Veteran
  • Wake up and smell the cat food n your bank account
Banking on an Emergency Seed Bank?
« on: July 09, 2012, 10:15:04 AM »

First let me state that I'm a beginner at the art of gardening. It is from the perspective of what little I've learned thus far that I approach this subject.

I started thinking about all of this quite by accident. Initially I was searching for and reading about various ways of saving and storing seeds. However, most likely due to Google Adsense, I was getting returns for Emergency Seed Bank/Vault/Kit offers both in the paid advertiser listings and in advertising space on various pages that I visited.

Google is indeed watching...

Eventually curiosity got the better of me and I clicked a few links to read about some of these emergency seed kits. My mind then wandered into the territory of "What If".

What if this year, my first year attempting a garden, had been at a moment in time where the survival of my family depended on me making use of and successfully growing produce from an Emergency Seed Bank to fill holes or extend the length of time my storage food could last?

The quick answer to that is that an Emergency Seed Bank would probably have helped a little, but probably wouldn't have done much if my only tools were the seed bank, land and hope.