Author Topic: Caterpillars!  (Read 4316 times)

Offline zarfbloot

• Prepper
  • Apprentice Prepper
Caterpillars!
« on: August 08, 2013, 07:02:53 PM »
Hi! I am new to gardening and am in desperate need of help and advice. I live in central Florida.

I started gardening because the pesticides/chemicals on vegetables and fruit in stores scares me. The more I have learned about them the more I wanted to become more self-sufficient and grow my own food.

I didn't build a bunch of beds and start a huge garden though. I started slow. Over the winter I had 20 strawberry plants. They did OK and I have some great ideas for next year and keeping birds out of them. I didn't start anything this spring because I was finishing my last semester of college and wanted to focus on that. Finally got a chance this July and planted some pumpkins from seed. The plants have been doing great until yesterday. I went out to check on them after work and almost every leaf had been eaten down. My culprit is some sort of small green silk caterpillar. I found bright orange eggs all over the plants. The caterpillars bored down into some of the flower buds as they were forming as well.

Here's what I did yesterday. I mixed a small spray bottle with some all natural dish soap and water and sprayed the plants heavily. I then found and killed every caterpillar I could (19 total killed yesterday). Today I went back out and found/killed 12 more caterpillars. I don't know how I missed that many yesterday but I was very thorough then and today. I didn't respray the plants today because I wanted to check in and make sure it was safe before I did it again. I kind of panicked yesterday and did it without researching much. I have just heard that dish soap and water works on some things.

My question are: am I reacting appropriately? Is there anything more I can do? Anything preventative I could have done differently?