Author Topic: Fire with fire - Open Records Act  (Read 2457 times)

Offline infosec

• Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
Fire with fire - Open Records Act
« on: October 10, 2013, 02:33:18 PM »
Hey all, I am an information security professional and have been exposed to many situations where I've seen how organizations react to public information requests.  While I'm sure many of you have varying opinions on laws like the Open Records Act, I haven't seen anyone pose the idea of getting some of our heads together to either perhaps answer some questions, or perhaps have a bit of leverage or influence.  The way I see it, government agencies don't do much to be very proactive in protecting citizens' information, but I have seen where they get proactive as a result of someone "poking" around asking for particular pieces of information, especially reporters.  One of the things that I have used in demonstrating to municipalities compelling arguments to protect certain pieces of information, is to posing the question to them "What would happen if the media made a public information request for these records?"  Most often, and sadly, this tends to be one of the most compelling arguments to motivate municipalities to keep information accurate and confidential.