Author Topic: Chemical spill response guidebook as a prep  (Read 2990 times)

Offline Blue_Sky

• Prepper
  • Don't Panic
Chemical spill response guidebook as a prep
« on: July 02, 2014, 09:04:42 AM »
Hey all,

I'm still an amateur prepper so if this has been discussed and I missed it I apologize. Doing a little research it looks like about 1000 people die every year from chemical spills in the United States. A little less than half of that is due to transport accidents, but if someone wants to be prepared for anything I think it would be worthwhile for someone who puts on a lot of highway miles or lives within a few miles of railroad tracks to have a hazmat emergency response guidebook and a pair of low powered binoculars available. You would be able  to look up the chemical ID number on the container's placard and respond or evacuate as appropriate based on the chemical.

Here's a link to a pdf of the book I'm thinking about, and I got trained on. It runs about $9 to get a hard copy:
http://phmsa.dot.gov/pv_obj_cache/pv_obj_id_7410989F4294AE44A2EBF6A80ADB640BCA8E4200/filename/ERG2012.pdf

Offline Cedar

• ...just aDD water...
  • TSP Supreme Galactic Ant
  • Dont wait for the storm to pass, dance in the rain
Re: Chemical spill response guidebook as a prep
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2014, 09:27:39 AM »
I have two aps on my cell phone too.

1. Chemical Data Safety Sheets is one. When we were doing a class at the fire station last month or so, we were using the book, but I also used my ap and I was finding things faster than in the book. Same information.
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/chemical-safety-data-sheets/id405208132?mt=8

the other ap is..