Author Topic: Anyone "Pellet Grill" Cooking? (ie Traeger or Green Mountain)  (Read 9273 times)

nelson96

I didn't see a thread like this already so I thought I would start one....  In about an hour I'm picking up my new Traeger pellet grill.  Because I'm new to grilling/smoking with one of these babies, I was hoping I could get some advice with recipes, temperatures, pellets, cooking times, ideas on what to cook, etc., etc. 

My daughter bought me an iGrill meat thermometer for Christmas, so I'll take advantage of that too.  If anyone has any experience with it, or something like it, please let me know how it improved your grilling.

If the mods will allow it [on this recipe board], I'd like to hear what some of you may have done to modify or add to your pellet grill to make it work better and/or what grill you chose to buy and why.

Offline Carl

• Mr HamTastic!
  • Forum Veteran
  • COW?...No ,I haven't seen your cow.
Re: Anyone "Pellet Grill" Cooking? (ie Traeger or Green Mountain)
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2015, 10:39:59 AM »
I have only used the one our group has a couple of times,it has High,Med,Low setting and pretty good thermal control as long as lid is kept SHUT. Be sure and pre-run before filling hopper the first time and try not to let the hopper run out while cooking or smoking. I like the S&W pellets a bit better than what sample pack came with the grill. Smoked peppers are awesome..
Stop complaining about life and start Celebrating it .

I've reached the age where there is little left to learn the hard way.

If you had only one year,one month,or one day...Would you live your life differently?

Radios are pointless without someone trained to use them.

nelson96

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2015, 01:06:23 PM »
I have only used the one our group has a couple of times,it has High,Med,Low setting and pretty good thermal control as long as lid is kept SHUT.

This one has a digital thermostat (no more 3-step settings), which makes it like running an oven.