Author Topic: The Pacific Crest Trail  (Read 11425 times)

Offline CombatPeds

• Prepper
    • My Page
The Pacific Crest Trail
« on: June 11, 2015, 08:31:37 AM »
Hello!  I'm hitting the Pacific Crest trail for a week at the end of July and I am planning to start from scratch as far as gear goes.  It's pretty far to REI from where I live and my work schedule keeps me hopping.  I do, however, have Amazon Prime.  What is the best gear you guys have found on Amazon that would be beneficial for my trip on the trail in July?  What totally sucked?  I appreciate your input!  You guy rock!

Ben 

Offline Cedar

• ...just aDD water...
  • TSP Supreme Galactic Ant
  • Dont wait for the storm to pass, dance in the rain
Re: The Pacific Crest Trail
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2015, 10:05:56 AM »
I would be more concerned if you are not in the Army, as I presume you had to do basic and such. But as a doctor, I presume you are not out running with a rucksack often.

What made me concerned was you have no gear which you have used and is an old friend. I am also hoping you are not going alone. So I am really hoping you are not a newbie heading out there. Depending on what section you are taking, the PCT can be pretty brutal. Depending on what section you are going, you may also have lack of water, especially with how dry it is. I am pretty sure we will be getting fire bans any second with how hot it has been with lack of humidity.

So now that my concerns are over-ish...

-----> Buy this http://www.amazon.com/Backpackers-Field-Manual-Revised-Updated/dp/1400053099/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1415512907&sr=1-2&keywords=outdoor+leadership+by+john+graham

Start dehydrating your food
http://www.backpackingchef.com/dehydrating-food.html