Author Topic: Canvascamp Tip/Sibely Opinions Needed  (Read 1506 times)

Offline SheepdogSurvival

• Survivor
Canvascamp Tip/Sibely Opinions Needed
« on: August 21, 2015, 03:08:10 PM »
Are campcanvas tipi / lavvu and sibley bell tents worth the cost? 

I'm looking at the 500 size levels (medium size at 16'4" diameter and equivalent to a 14x15' room) which are priced $800-$1000 depending on the model.
http://www.canvascamp.us/us_en/cotton-tents/tipi/tipi-500-ultimate.html

Backstory, I've been working on my truck (r50 pathfinder) getting it ready and configured as an overlanding/BOV/family camping vehicle. And part of that obviously includes making camp and right now I have a couple USMC combat tents and another 2person backpacking tent that I can use, but I would like the ability to sleep myself,wife, 2xkids, and 2xGSPs dogs in the same tent (2 adults, 2 kids, and 2 45lb dogs) and have enough room to hangout together in bad weather. So I came up with this list of requirements and wants.

Requirements:
Weatherproof, must be able to handle high winds(40-50mph) and torrential downpours and light snow.
Be large enough to hangout in in bad weather.
Be high quality and high durability, I want this purchase to last.
Weight is not an issue
The relatively easy for me to put up alone.

Nice to have:
Canvas construction is the cost worth it?
Ability to use with a tent stove in winter.
Removable floor

I looked at nylon and polyester tents and ones up to the task range from $200-$500 and other non bell/tipi canvas tents in the $600 range. Which is not cheap to say the least. I have not spent much time in a canvas tent, only a shelter half and GP tent in a past life so are canvas tents really worth the extra cost to justify the extra durability and breathability?