Author Topic: Furnace / Generator Hack  (Read 1369 times)

Offline evh

• Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
Furnace / Generator Hack
« on: September 02, 2018, 04:21:20 PM »
I thought I would share the furnace hack I did to accommodate my generator.  I watched a number of YouTube videos and I think there are no safety issues with this, but I welcome any comments. 

So my background is I live in Michigan and we experience a small number of outages where I live (roughly 3 – 4 per year).  Usually they last < 12 hours but we had one go for 3 days a few years back.   Not that is a big of a deal in the summer but when it is 20 degrees outside the house gets really cold!

I few years back I bought a 2,000 watt inverter.  I use extension cords and can keep things running as I need them in the house with the exception of my natural gas furnace.  It is hard wired.  I checked and found that the inverter would run it.  So I am sharing the < $15 easy modification I made so it would.

It must be code where I live (maybe all over) that the furnaces have a shutoff for the furnace on it  (rather than just throwing a breaker).  So mounted on my furnace is a basic switch and screw in fuse setup. See the first link below.  I wondered if they made the same setup but instead of a switch, it was plug.   See the second link, they do. Using this instead of a the switch allow me to wire a 3 prong plug in my furnace wiring and plug it in. 

If someone needed to work on the furnace, they would just pull the plug.  However, If I wanted to run the furnace with the inverter, I could simply unplug it from the receptacle and plug it into my inverter powered extension cord.

Well that is what I did and it works great.  I lost power in January 2017 and ran the furnace for about 8 hours.  No issues.  Again, I thought I would share.