Author Topic: asparagus question  (Read 667 times)

Offline surfivor

• Survival Veteran
asparagus question
« on: May 06, 2019, 09:44:43 AM »
 I just have a couple of questions as I saw some websites on asparagus. If I harvest an asparagus spear, will another one come up or will the one I cut continue to grow ?

How do you get asparagus to spread ? Can you dig up some roots and separate it out ? Do I need to do a better job of controlling grass, weeds and other plants near the asparagus ?

I have been planting asparagus every year for 3 years or so. The only luck I have is if I buy the roots in Maine where they sell them and you can see they are alive by the growth on the roots. If I buy the roots from a box at home depot, they seem dried up and nearly dead. I plant these roots thickly together in pots and when they start to show serious growth then I transplant them into my yard

Offline fritz_monroe

• The Defenestrator
  • Administrator
  • Survival Veteran
    • The Homestead Fritz
Re: asparagus question
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2019, 03:51:25 PM »
When you cut the spear, that spear stops growing.  The crown does not send up another to replace it, it is just sending up spears regularly.

Yes, you should take better care of getting rid of the plants around the asparagus.  It works best if you have no other plants coming up around the asparagus.

I got my crowns from a seed place, not the big box store and they still looked like dried up roots.

Offline CharlesH

• Survivalist Mentor
  • Hope is a method...
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2019, 06:35:03 PM »
They spread very slowly for me.  That’s a good thing because I have them planted where I want them.  Mine are very prolific and we eat asparagus virtually every night for a month, have soup on the weekend. Dehydrate some for soup, and give lots to friends.  That’s about 3 50’ rows.

Offline surfivor

• Survival Veteran
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2019, 07:42:14 PM »