Author Topic: NVIS  (Read 1136 times)

Offline BillFoster

• Fledgling Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
NVIS
« on: June 05, 2019, 07:20:08 AM »
It’s been a while since I have been active here (7 years). During that time, I studied and got my AE license, joined a local club, and found that because of terrain, I can’t use the club repeater that is only 14-miles away. For the same terrain reason, I can use a repeater that is 55-miles away.

During a SHTF event, things that happen within 100 miles from my location would be more important to me than what is happening in say, Europe or Japan. That is what got me interested in NVIS. I was wondering if anyone on the TSP Ham forum has used NVIS and what successes they have had.There are a couple of good articles on the subject if some (like me)  have not experimented.

http://www.gwinnettares.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/presentations/ARES%20NVIS%20multiband%20antenna.pdf

http://static.dxengineering.com/pdf/WP-NVIS-Rev2.pdf

Offline gnoticpasta

• Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
Re: NVIS
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2019, 07:28:16 AM »
I've been fascinated by NVIS for many years, and my current plan is to use a buddipole configured for NVIS. But, to answer your question.. no, haven't played around with it to much yet.. On an upcoming camping trip, me and a buddy of mine will be using NVIS antenna you have in your second link (just started getting the parts this past weekend)

GP

Offline armymars

• Survivalist Mentor
  • New TSP Forum member
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2019, 08:48:58 AM »